

LOCAL YOUTH LEADERS MAINTAIN MOMENTUM WITH NEW CLASS AND HONOR COMMUNITY CHAMPIONS

Media Contact: Bobby Persinger, Project Director bpersinger@pathwaysco.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 30, 2018

NEWARK, OHIO-- The **Youth Leadership Council (YLC) of Licking County,** an award-winning youth prevention and leadership development project of Pathways of Central Ohio inducted the 2018-2019 class of representatives and honored six community members at the annual Leadership Convocation and Dessert Reception on May 22, 2018 at the Skylight Banquet Hall in downtown Newark.

The annual event serves as a night of celebration as students and community members across Licking County showcase how they helped make Licking County a happy, healthy, safe and drug-free place to live, work and go to school. Students from nine school districts in Licking County are represented in the new class, coming with various leadership and service backgrounds.

"The impact that the YLC has made over the past seven years is impressive. Contributing more than 30,000 hours of community engagement proves that our young people are motivated, dedicated and determined to make our communities great!" said Kristin McCloud, Executive Director of Pathways of Central Ohio.

Designed to build leadership skills, improve knowledge of behavioral health concerns, promote prevention and engage young people in decision making, high school students commit a year of service to Licking and surrounding counties in an effort to bring awareness to and prevent issues related to substance use, problem gambling, bullying, suicide and other violence.

In addition to inducting the new class of representatives, the Youth Leadership Council is paying it forward and honoring positive change agents from around our community. The council honored six deserving community members as the forth class of leadership honorees.

"The high school students created the honors, coordinated the nominations, and choose the recipients. This is just one way for them to thank the community for the support and commitment they've received over the years." said Bobby Persinger, prevention director at Pathways of Central Ohio and project director for the Youth Leadership Council.

Watkins Memorial High School graduate, Ashley Montagnese was honored as the *alumni of the year* for actively promoting the core values of the YLC after her time on Council.

Amy Gibson, Librarian and theatre teacher at Heath High School, received the *advocate of the year* honor for her continued promotion, support, and advocacy of youth prevention in Licking County.

Licking Valley High School Band Director, Dr. Sean Bradley, received the *educator of the year* honor for promoting positive prevention messages through education.

Two-year Lakewood High School representative and outgoing administrative director, Jenna Chorpenning received the *member of the year* honor for her hard work and dedication to the group and for inspiring others to live a substance and violence free life.

Licking Valley Middle School teacher, Erin Fee, was named the 2018 recipient of the *Ruth Satterfield Award for Prevention Excellence*. Named for the former Ohio Department of Mental Health & Addiction Services' Prevention Chief and Licking County resident, the Satterfield Award honors someone who values the power of youth and promotes the impact of youth prevention.

Cycle Seven President, Abbey McNaught, chose former YLC Project Manager, Lezlie Lucas, to receive the *President's Award* for mentoring and guiding her throughout her time on Council.

McNaught and Lakewood High School representative and fellow three-year member, Cameron Vayansky, both received the *Janice McLean Scholarship*. Named for local Psychologist, Dr. Janice McLean, the scholarship is awarded to an individual who has exemplified the drive, dedication and passion to help change the world and make it a better place.

McNaught will utilize the scholarship to continue her leadership at Marietta College where she has been selected to participate in the McDonough Leadership Program. Vayansky will study secondary education with a focus on English and Spanish at Duquesne University in Pittsburg.

2018-2019 Youth Leadership Council Representatives:

Heath High School Newark Catholic High School

*Cody Miller

*Hannah Brunaugh

*+Paul Collier

Chyenne Rappold
*Sydney Fowls

Lakewood High School
*+#Mallory Janicki

*Hailey Zimmerman

Newark High School
*Darian Athey

Utica High School
Elizabeth Dyke

Andrew Carr

Rebekah Kalas Granville Christian Academy

Carsie Reed Andrea Caughell

Johnstown High School Watkins Memorial High School

*+Ashley Abner *Audri Atkinson Molley Krstitch #Kenny Sloan Ashley Villa *+Faith Triplett

Licking Valley High School

#Chloe Aronowitz *Jayme Clark

Ricky Collins *returning member
Aubrey Dunn +three year member
Kyla Fitch #legacy member

Kiara Hennessy Megan Kollar Garrett Montgomery

*Noelle Stevens

###